Wednesday, January 7, 2009

Chicago, Illinois 1/07/09
Contact: Allen Rubin, 641-472-4199

The National Green Museum and National Environmental Hall of Fame are Accepting Nominations for Top Environmentalists in Every City and School

Mayor Richard M. Daley, environmental activists Pierce Brosnan and Keely Shaye Brosnan inducted into National Environmental Hall of Fame

Individuals, organizations and businesses from every city and school are invited to submit a two-page exhibit or biography as part of the nomination process to honor top environmentalists in every city and school.

From November 20-22, 2008, 36 top environmentalists were inducted into the National, Illinois and Chicago Environmental Halls of Fame at Hotel Allegro, rated Chicago’s greenest hotel.

Honorees included Chicago Cubs, Chicago Public Schools and Chicago Park District, who helped inaugurate Green Teams as part of the National Green Team League.

Pro sports teams are encouraged to participate in the National Green Team League. Athletic teams have their own pro league. Green Teams now have their own league to help make them as popular as school sports teams.

To nominate for the Environmental Hall of Fame or become part of the National Green Team League, an individual, organization or business creates a two-page exhibit or biography (with pictures) featuring their plan and achievements to help their city, school or business “go green.” Honorees will be announced around Earth Day 2009.

For detailed information, please see

The Environmental Hall of Fame’s mission is to help recognize and implement solutions of top environmentalists to help reduce global warming, energy costs and pollution, and help increase energy independence.

USA leading environmentalists were honored at the Environmental Hall of Fame’s inaugural event June 6, 2008, including Art Linkletter, Mario Van Peebles, Van Jones and Stan Ovshinsky.

Induction is envisioned to be the environmental sector’s equivalent of an Emmy or Grammy.

“Yes to Success” founder, Debra Poneman, emceed both events. The Chicago event was filmed by major Chicago networks for the evening news.

November 2008 Honorees Included:
American Solar Energy Society; American Wind Energy Association (AWEA); Ben Sandzer-Bell; Center for Neighborhood Technology; Chicago Cubs; Chicago Park District; Chicago Public Schools; City of Naperville Renewable Energy; CNT Energy; Conscious Choice; CTA; Environment Illinois; Green Power Inc; L. Hunter Lovins; I-Go Car Sharing; Illinois PIRG; Illinois Renewable Energy Association; Illinois Sierra Club; Illinois Solar Energy Association; Informed Energy Decisions; James Dehlsen; Mayor Richard M. Daley; Kimpton Hotels; Lt. Governor Pat Quinn; Mike Nicklas; MSI/Smart Home; NBC5; Pierce Brosnan and Keely Shaye Brosnan; RJ Jordan; Sadhu Johnston; ShoreBank; Sierra Club; Stirling Energy Systems; Tim McNeil; UIC Energy Resource Center; Whole Foods Market

Please contact Allen and Catherine at

# # #