Sunday, October 19, 2008

Chicago, Illinois 10/20/08


Theme: Discover How You Can Help Transform the United States into a Prosperous Renewable Energy Economy

The Environmental Hall of Fame will induct 36 honorees into the National, Illinois and Chicago Environmental Hall of Fame in Chicago, November 20-22 at the Hotel Allegro, at its second awards ceremony. The Hotel Allegro, (177 W. Randolph) across from City Hall, has been rated the greenest hotel in Chicago. Tickets are available at

Top environmentalists from the USA, Illinois and Chicago Area will be inducted into the National Environmental Hall of Fame, Illinois Environmental Hall of Fame and Chicago Environmental Hall of Fame. The event will also inaugurate exhibits for the National Green Museum and National Environmental Hall of Fame in Chicago. Over 100 exhibits will be on display.

Twenty-two of the Nation’s leading environmentalists and “green” celebrities were honored at the Environmental Hall of Fame's inaugural event on June 6, 2008, including Art Linkletter, Mario Van Peebles, Van Jones and Stan Ovshinsky.

The Environmental Hall of Fame envisions induction to be the environmental sector’s equivalent of an Emmy or Grammy. The June 6 ceremony recognized 22 outstanding organizations and individuals for their longstanding commitment to helping create a green, sustainable planet and reduce global warming. The event was filmed for national TV.

The November 20-22 events will induct at least 36 more honorees into the Environmental Hall of Fame (12 each day). The media is invited to a Press Conference, attended by honorees, held one hour before the start of each event (4-5 PM Thursday and Friday, 9-10 AM Saturday). The event will be filmed for national TV by White Sage Media.

The mission of the Environmental Hall of Fame is to help recognize and implement solutions of top Environmentalists in order to help reduce global warming, energy costs, pollution and help increase energy independence. The founders of the Environmental Hall of Fame believe that implementing the technologies and recommendations of the Honorees would be enough to help transform the United States into a self-sufficient, renewable energy economy.

Inductees were selected following extensive research into environmental projects for over a year. Criteria for Hall of Fame award recipients include recommendations by peers, longevity in the environmental field and overall impact.

All attendees can have their picture taken on the Green Carpet. The Hero of Planet Earth (HOPE) Award will be given to members of all environmental groups who attend. Individual and group pictures can be displayed in an exhibit at the National Green Museum and Environmental Hall of Fame Museum.

November Honorees Include:
American Solar Energy Society (ASES),
Bradley Collins
American Wind Energy Association (AWEA), Randall Swisher
Center for Neighborhood Technology (CNT), Urban Sustainability
Chicago Center for Green Technology (CCGT), Building Resources
Chicago Climate Action Plan, 80% Carbon Reduction 2050
Chicago Department of Environment, Chgo Climate Action Plan
Chicago Public Schools, Suzanne Carlson, Environ Program Manager
City of Naperville Renewable Energy, 8.5% Participation
Conscious Choice, Chicago’s Sustainability Magazine, 20 Years
Environment Illinois, Brian Granahan, Environmental Advocacy
Faith in Place, Clare Butterfield, 400 Green Church Partners
Geothermal Energy Association (GEA), Karl Gawell, Exec Director
GreenPower, Michael Spitzauer, From Biomass to Diesel Fuel
I-Go Car Sharing, Non-Profit Car Sharing Services
Illinois PIRG (IPIRG), Brian Imus, Public Transp Advocacy
Illinois Renewable Energy Association (IREA), Business Network
Illinois Renewable Portfolio Strategy, 15% Renewables by 2020
Illinois Solar Energy Association (ISEA), Mark Burger
Informed Energy Decisions, Energy Performance, 29 yrs Experience
James Dehlsen, Father of American Wind Energy
Kimpton Hotels, USA’s Greenest Hotel Chain
Mark Victor Hansen, Inspiration for Environmental Hall of Fame
Merchandise Mart, World’s Largest Green Building, Silver LEED
Mike Nicklas, Innovative Design for Sustainable Schools
Sadhu Johnston, Chief Environmental Officer, Mayor’s Office
ShoreBank, Pioneering and Premiere Green Bank, Since 1973
Sierra Club, America’s Oldest/Largest Environmental Organization
Suzanne Malec-McKenna, Director, Chicago Dept of Environment

Website: Click on June 6 Awards Ceremony Pictures to see photos of the June 6 event. Click on Awards Ceremony Nominees, Tickets and ... to purchase tickets for the November 20-22 events. For more information, please contact

# # #